12 Most Beautiful and Quaint Homes

Huge and abrupt change of pace for this blog, but that’s me (weird as heck). Things I love is what it’s about as well, and beautifully designed homes I do love a lot.

Yep, as much as I do not appreciate the human race, I’m over the top with appreciation for us at our best, and one of those bests is home design, especially the older style homes or those new ones that reflect well on the past.

So, following are some pics of houses that I particularly love the look and “feel” of. I don’t so much like huge stately mansions and such, preferring smaller charming places that don’t resemble hotels. One reason is that I don’t find housecleaning fun, lol. Big green yards, especially back yards, are a plus though…so big lots I like, just not huge houses.

My little condo is nice and I love it, but wouldn’t mind owning one of these lovely homes at all…hope you enjoy looking and dreaming, too. I of course picture them only with vegan foods in the fridge and pantry and happy dogs lolling about in bliss. No mean people allowed!!!

(All images are from the web, labeled as public domain or free to re-use or credited where required.) Click on pic for full size view…

harriet_phillips_bungalow-credit-daniel-case-wikimedia

Harriet Phillips Bungalow – photo credit: Daniel Case

lake_little_historical-house-port-townsend-washjpg

Lake Little Historical House, Port Townsend, Washington

spanish_mission_style_house_in_heidelberg_victoria-australia

Spanish Mission-style House in Heidelberg, Victoria, Australia

craftsman_bungalow

Craftsman Bungalow

credit-ilmari-karonen-wikimedia-pisgah-historical-home-highland_park_ca

Pisgah Historical Home, Highland Park, California – photo credit: Ilmari Karonen

george_l-_burlingame_house_credit-ed-uthman-wikimedia

George L. Burlingame House – photo credit: Ed Uthman – PROBABLY MY TOP PICK 🙂

california_bungalow_in_alexandria_virginia

California Bungalow, Alexandria Virginia

sears-catalog-house-1926-credit-bootbearwdc-flickr

Sears Catalog House circa 1926 – photo credit: Bootbearwdc on Flickr

credit-david-sawyer-flickr-craftsman_house_san_jose_ca

Craftsman House, San Jose, California – photo credit: David Sawyer on Flickr

red-brick-house-788828_960_720

Red Brick House

home-740260_960_720

Simply labeled “home”

holiday-house-177401_960_720

“Holiday House”

Note: If anyone should comment, please pardon the delay in posting…I have comments on approval because of trolls, business as usual on the web, haha.

10 thoughts on “12 Most Beautiful and Quaint Homes

  1. Thanks for showing those. It makes me just so frustrated, though, that the one photo I had of our Craftsman two story bungalow (built in 1901) is nowhere to be found, and I have never seen another one like it. At the time we lived on 5th street in Alhambra (1950’s,early 60’s) there were a lot of old homes, many built in the 1800’s, which were so beautiful. The vast majority of them gone now…

    I don’t have to live in one any longer; my little one story abode is all I need. Just looking at them, like viewing any other work of art, is satisfactory. But Christ said that in heaven there are many mansions. If there is a heaven, and that is true, I don’t want a mansion – just that Craftsman bungalow.

      • Thanks Laura. None of those look like it, either. I’ve searched through hundreds, and not found even what I’d consider a close match. I’ll keep on looking for that lost photo. And it also had a two story garage, which, at one time, had been a carriage house, and the upstairs was for storing hay.

          • Yes, I have. Some of those houses are quite lovely, too. Alhambra had a lot of them. But ours isn’t there. I did see a house that looks very much like the one around the block, on 6th Street, where my brother’s friend, Johnny Shoemaker lived. It was not one of the old homes, but the picture looks very much like it. It won’t paste here, so I’ll just email it to you.

            • Got the email, thanks, that unique Shoemaker house looks VERY familiar, I probably noticed it when in Alhambra many years ago, remember driving on 6th St.

  2. Yes they are lovely. Most people can only dream of owning the home they would really like. It makes me feel quite discontent until I remember the tragedy that animals experience. Puts my life in to perspective. Thanks for sharing Laura.

    • Yes, it’s just an escape for me, admiring nice, cute homes…I dream of a day when all human abodes everywhere will be free of the sickness and cruelty that mars everything in life.

  3. All great picks. The red brick house is cool, the Spanish and bungalows are always cute, but the Lake Little Historical house wins the prize probably because of the swampy moss things hanging make it look like a haunted house.

    • I knew that if you looked in here you’d like that haunted looking house with the weeping willow, I love that one too; looks all southern and bayou-ish, but it’s in Washington state. I picture a Halloween kitty in there doing that dance 😉

Leave a Reply

